AFRIMA announces first batch of nominees for 2015

Organisers of the All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) held a press conference in Lagos, Nigeria 14 August. The purpose was to announce the first batch of nominees for the award ceremony now in its second year and receiving increased attention.

Brymo won the AFRIMA award for songwriting in 2014
Brymo won the AFRIMA award for songwriting in 2014

The group—consisting regional representatives as well as Executive Producer Mike Dada, Adjudication Director Mike Strano and Chairman International Media Committee Steve Ayorinde­—spoke about the aims and nomination process of the awards.  

‘We receive a link from artists,’ they said. ‘We check every link for production quality, composition, melody…among others and award marks.’

Subsequent to the announcement of nominee list, dominated by Nigeria and South Africa in the general categories, the panel was asked about the recurrence of some names from the previous edition. ‘The more you apply,’ the group said, ‘the better your chances. We can’t give the award to people who have not entered. Also, the key is consistency.’

Another question asked was on the existence of a cash prize. No cash prize, they said. Citing one of last year’s winner, Ghanaian singer Wiyaala recently featured on CNN, the group said ‘winning AFRIMA will take you to the next level.’

Asked how AFRIMA is different from Africa’s other award shows? Ayorinde said, ‘It is unaffiliated to a commercial platform and an industry initiative.’

He added that, ‘AFRIMA rests on a tripod. The music summit, the music village and the award ceremony. Also, AFRIMA has a partnership with the African Union—how relevant is art if it can’t cohabit with politics?’

The nominees for the 2015 edition of AFRIMA are:

Album of the Year
WizkidAyo (Joy) – Nigeria
P-SquareDouble Trouble – Nigeria
Charlotte Dipanda – Elle n’a pas vu – Cameroon
Mani BellaFace a Face – Cameroon
Yemi AladeKing of Queens – Nigeria
Alsarah & Nubatones – Silt – Sudan
BrymoTabula Rasa – Nigeria
FlavourThankful – Nigeria
Wiyaala – The Lioness – Ghana
Song of the Year
Sarkodie – Adonai (Remix) featuring Castro – Ghana
Charlotte Dipanda – Elle n’a pas vu – Cameroon
Davido – Fans Mi featuring Meek Mill – Nigeria
Yemi Alade – Kissing – Nigeria
Alikiba – Mwana – Tanzania
Diamond Platnumz – Nasema Nawe – Tanzania
Wizkid – Ojuelegba – Nigeria
P-Square – Shekini – Nigeria
Sauti Sol – Sura Yako – Kenya
Dr Jose Chameleone – Wale Wale – Uganda
Artist of the Year
Alikiba – Tanzania
Charlotte Dipanda – Cameroon
Davido – Nigeria
Diamond Platnumz – Tanzania
Flavour – Nigeria
Olamide – Nigeria
Sarkodie – Ghana
Wizkid – Nigeria
Yemi Alade – Nigeria
Best Male Artist (West Africa)
Brymo – 1 Pound – Nigeria
Davido – Fans Mi feat Meek Mill – Nigeria
Flavour – Golibe – Nigeria
Olamide – Shakiti Bobo – Nigeria
Sarkodie – Adonai (Remix) – Ghana
Wizkid – Ojuelegba – Nigeria
Best Female Artist (West Africa)
Efya – Forgetting Me – Ghana
Niyola – Last Bust Stop – Nigeria
Ruby Gyang – Good Man – Nigeria
Seyi Shay – Jangilova – Nigeria
Wiyaala – Africa – Ghana
Yemi Alade – Kissing – Nigeria
Best Male Artist (South Africa)
Beatenberg – Beauty like a Tightened Bow – South Africa
Cassper Nyovest – Ghetto featuring DJ Drama & Anatii – South Africa
DJ Malvado – Toca Ninguem se Mexe featuring The Groove & Equipe Explosao – Angola
Djeff Afrozila – Ser Kazukuta featuring Yuri da Cunha – Angola
Jeremy Loops – Down South featuring Motheo Moleko – South Africa
KO – Son of a Gun – South Africa
Best Female Artist (South Africa)
Anna Joyce – Ja Nao Combina – Angola
Bucie – Shela – South Africa
Busiswa – Lahla featuring DJ Buckz & Uhuru – South Africa
Celma Munyavi – Kutsavaga Mari – Zimbabwe
Kelly Khumalo – Asine – South Africa
Best Male Artist (North Africa)
Ahmed Soultan – This is who I am featuring Wiyaala– Morocco
Amr Diab – Gamalo – Egypt
Aziz Sahmaoui – Mazal – Morocco
Don Bigg – Ghadi Bellour – Morocco
Monsif Jilali – Bki ya Layne – Morocco
Simo Lagnawi – Bolami – Morocco
Best Female Artist (North Africa)
Cheba Sabrine – Oublie Moi – Algeria
Jannat – Agbany Shakhsito – Egypt
Manal – #Denia – Morocco
Samira Said – Mazloom – Morocco
Souad Massi – El Boulbouli – Algeria
Best Male Artist (Eastern Africa)
Alikiba – Mwana – Tanzania
Diamond Platnumz – Nasema Nawe – Tanzania
Jaguar – One Centimtre – Kenya
Jose Chameleone – Wale Wale – Uganda
Kidum & Boda Boda band – Ihorere – Burundi
Teddy Afro – Korkuma Africa – Ethiopia
Best Female Artist (Eastern Africa)
Alsarah & The Nubatones – Habibi Taal – Sudan
Helen Berhe – Gumema Bet – Ethiopia
Lilian Mbabazi – Simple Girl – Uganda
Linah – Ole Themba – Tanzania
Suzanna Owiyo – Wamiel – Kenya
Tsedenia – Yet Biye – Ethiopia
Best Male Artist (Central Africa)
Awilo Longomba – Bundele – Democratic Republic of Congo
Herleo Muntu – Muabilayi – Democratic Republic of Congo
Junior Enyango – Belle Mere – Cameroon
Locko – Margo – Cameroon
Numerica & Bana C4 – Kossa Moi Ca – Cameroon
Stanley Enow & DJ Neptune – King Kong – Cameroon
Best Female Artist (Central Africa)
Betty Akna – Africa United – Equatorial Guinea
Charlotte Dipanda – Elle n’a pas Vu – Cameroon
Laurette La Perle – Twist – Democratic Republic of Congo
Mani Bella – Face a Face – Cameroon
Missy BK – Ndolo – Cameroon


comments powered by Disqus