Bebe Cool withdraws from Uganda’s CMVAs

As preparations for this year’s Club Music Video Awards (CMVA) enter the final leg in the run-up to 17 March, controversy marred the nominations as top ragga artist Bebe Cool announced his withdrawal from the awards.

Bebe Cool. Photo:
Bebe Cool. Photo:

He had been nominated for two categories – Viral Video of the Year and Best Choreography. The organisers confirmed that they had accepted his request but urged fans to keep voting for the other nominees.

The artist is still reeling from rumours about his recent HiPipo Music Awards victory, with a local newspaper, Daily Monitor, insinuating that he ‘owned’ the awards. In a cartoon that took a swipe at Cool, the paper nicknamed the awards ‘Hi-Bebe’ and depicted him awarding himself.  

“I have won a lot of awards in the last 25 years because of hard work, focus and consistency,” Cool, who has in the past impressed at the Pearl of Africa Music Awards and was nominated for the Kora All-African Awards in 2003 and 2005, wrote in response to the cartoon.

The singer scooped three HiPipo Awards – Song of the Year for ‘Kabulengane’, Best Male Artist and Music Icon of the Decade – in Kampala earlier this month.

“Today I have decided to officially ask all organising committees of any music competition/awards in Uganda to exclude my name in all nominations in Uganda,” he wrote in the statement. “Let me concentrate on being appreciated beyond my borders.”

Judges Malaika Nnyanzi and Alex Muhangi announced the nominees. The categories are: Best Choreography, Best Cinematography, Best Costume and Make-up, Best Directing, Best Duo or Group, Best Set Design, Best Special Effects, Best Use of Technology, Collaboration of the Year, Female Video of the Year, Inspirational Message, Video of The Year, Male Video of the Year, Newcomer of the Year and Video of the Year.

Patrobas and Abaasa got seven nominations for their ‘Voice Inside’ video while Cindy Sanyu got five nominations for her collaboration with Kenya’s Wahu Kagwi on ‘Yeye’. Winnie Nwagi’s video for ‘Magic’ is in the running for three awards while newcomer Benjamin Spartos and veterans Radio and Weasel as well as Eddy Kenzo each received three nominations.


comments powered by Disqus