Falz wins City People Award for Best Album

At the City People Awards held in Lagos, Nigeria on Sunday 24 July, the album Stories that Touch by Nigerian rapper Falz was named Best Album.


The rapper, who is also a comic, has had a great run—one that started with his sophomore album received enthusiastically by both reviewers and listeners. A loss at the Headies early in the year was a minor setback as the rapper later received a nomination at the BET Awards, which he won.

His foray into comedy on television brought him an award at the African Magic Viewer’s Choice Awards (AMVCA) held this in March. Away from the awards, his short film for the single ‘Soldier’ from Stories That Touch was praised for its humour and central performance of the lead actor and actress—played by Falz himself and the featured singer Simi.

The City People Awards saw Patoranking take the Reggae-Dancehall Artist of the Year award. DJ Spinall was named Best DJ and ‘Local Rapper’ singer Reminisce, whose fourth album is soon out, won the Rapper of the Year award. Davido’s HKN record label new signee Mayorkun took the Most Promising Act of the Year award.

The awards also saw a number of actors and actresses win awards for their work, chosen from a selection of nominees from Nigeria and Ghana.

The list of winners is as follows:

  • Album of the Year: Stories That Touch - Falz The Bahd Guy
  • Rapper of the Year: Reminisce
  • Best New Act: Koker
  • Reggae-Dancehall Artist of the Year: Patoranking
  • DJ of the Year: DJ Spinall
  • Most Promising Act of the Year: Mayorkun
  • Best OAP of the Year: Lolo 1
  • Supporting Actress of the Year (Yoruba): Tayo Sobola
  • Best Supporting Actress of the Year (English): Kiki Omeli
  • Best Supporting Actor of the Year: Blossom Chukwujekwu
  • Most Promising Actress of the Year: Yetunde Bakare
  • Most Promising Actor: Emmanuel Ikubese
  • Best Actor of the Year (Yoruba): Adedimeji Laleef
  • Best Actor of the Year (English): OC Ukeje
  • Best Actress of the Year (Yoruba): Kemi Afolabi
  • Best Actress of the year (English): Thelma Okoduwa
  • Best Producer of the Year: Yomi Fabiyi
  • Comic Actor of the Year: Eniola Badmus
  • Best Marketer of the Year: Prince Iyke Olisa
  • Revelation of the Year: Olumide Oworu
  • Best TV series of the Year: Taste of Love
  • Best Online TV of the Year: GoldmyneTV
  • Best Hausa Entertainment Programme on TV: Royco Mai-Dandano
  • Best Movie Marketer of the Year: Prince Iyke Olisa


comments powered by Disqus