Ladysmith Black Mambazo comes to Lagos for AFRIMA

Organisers of The All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) have announced that over a hundred musicians across the continent will be attending the second edition of the award ceremony. Leading the throng of singing stars is South African group Ladysmith Black Mambazo, who are slated to perform.

Ladysmith Black Mambazo
Ladysmith Black Mambazo

The timing of the event has added significance for the Grammy-winning band: ‘AFRIMA 2015 will be staged in November,’ said Ladysmith's manager Majozi Christopher Zolisile, ‘which coincidentally is the month for Ladysmith Black Mambazo's 55th anniversary. It will be amazing and electrifying to perform on a big stage like All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) 2015 in Nigeria. We are looking forward to it.’

Also expected to perform are Cameroon’s Charlotte Dipanda, Tanzania’s Diamond Platnumz and from host country Olamide and Yemi Alade, who are among nominees at the ceremony.

According to the organisers of the award show, artists from around the continent have confirmed attendance. From East Africa, attendees include  Eastern Africa include Vanessa Mdee, Bebe Cool, Tsedenia, Alikiba H_Art the Band and Dr. Jose Chameleone.

South African artists expected include AKA, Busiswa, Amantle, Cindy Munyavi, Gazza, Blade Deep/Delura, The Soil, Kunle Ayo, Cassper Nyovest and KO.

From north Africa: Awilo Logomba, Stanley Enow, Charlotte Dipanda, NG Bling, Jovi, Daphne, M'vula, Betty Akna, Mani Bella, Featurist, Vumomse, Missy BK, and DJ Malvado, and Manal, Don Bigg, Monsif Jilali and Ahmed Soultan, Cheba Sabrine, Alsarah, Souad Massi, Samira Said and Gabacho Maroconnection.

Sarkodie, Stonebwoy, Toofan, Kiff No Beat, Dark Suburb “The Skeleton”, DJ Arafat, Wiyaala, Sekou Kouyate, Gangbe Brass Band from West Africa have confirmed participation.

As expected artists from host country Nigeria will show up in considerable number. The confirmed artists include: include Davido, Wizkid, P-Square, Timaya, Nneka, Flavour, Darey, Brymo, Seyi Shay, Wande Coal, Praiz, Niyola, Patoranking, Adekunle Gold, Kiss Daniel, Aramide, Timi Dakolo, and J. Martins.

The 2015 edition of the AFRIMA Awards holds 15 November at the Eko Convention Centre, Lagos.


comments powered by Disqus