Metro FM Awards launch pan-African category

The 15th Metro FM Music Awards (MMAs) will return for the fourth year to the Inkosi Albert Luthuli Convention Centre (ICC) in Durban, South Africa on Saturday 27 February. Metro FM is the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC)’s biggest commercial radio station.

Sphectacula and DJ Naves. Photo:
Sphectacula and DJ Naves. Photo:

The nominees were revealed recently following the period for nominations/entries, which ran from 12 November to 11 December 2015. Nathi Mankayi and Sphectacula & DJ Naves are leading the pack with five nominations each.

Nathi received nominations in the categories Best African Pop Album (Buyelekhaya), Best RnB Single (‘Nomvula’), Best New Artist, Best Male Album and Song of the Year (‘Nomvula’). It’s the latest in the soul man’s rapid rise to fame. In December 2015 he was added to the star-studded international line-up for the BET Experience in Johannesburg.

Sphectacula and DJ Naves received nominations in the categories of Best Group/Duo Album (KOTW), Best Colaboration (KOTW), Best New Artist, Best Music Video (‘KOTW Anthem’) and Song of the Year for their ‘Kings Of The Weekend Anthem’ featuring Professor. Though not known for raking in award nominations, Sphectacula & DJ Naves, who host a popular radio show on Metro FM, are clearly looking good for this year.


New kid on the block Emtee scooped four nominations, in the Best Remix category as well as Best Music Video, Best Hip-Hop Album and Best New Artist. Also bagging four nominations is rapper Riky Rick. Of the leading ladies, singers Maleh and Zonke have three nods apiece, as does rapper Fifi Cooper (including Best New Artist and Best Female). Also in the running with three nods are the likes of Black Coffee, AKA and Dbn Nyts, while Cassper Nyovest earned two nominations, Best Hip-Hip and Best Male, for Refiloe.

The awards have introduced a new pan-African category (not to be confused with the Best African Pop Album category), which focuses on celebrating African musical excellence by honouring musicians from across the continent who made it onto the Metro FM playlist. This year nominees in the African category are Nigerians: Burna Boy (for ‘Soka’), Wizkid (‘Ojuelegba’), Patoranking (‘My Woman, my Everything’), The Mavins (‘Dorobucci’) and Reekado Banks (‘Katapot’).

According to the SABC’s Group Executive for Radio, Lesley Ntloko, “Every year, Metro FM has consistently endeavored to bring about new and innovative ideas to the Awards property. This year, we introduce prize money in all the categories. The winner in each category will bag a staggering R100 000 (US$6000). This year, we will also be introducing a new category, celebrating music from other African countries that forms part of Metro FM’s playlist. This is in the spirit of oneness, as we believe that we are one Africa.”

Of the notable omissions, rapper K.O was left with a bruised ego after failing to get any nominations, despite considerable airplay on the station during the year. He took to Instagram to voice his frustrations, explaining that being overlooked encourages him to work harder: “Being overlooked at these award ceremonies has been the story and fuel behind my solo journey. I feed off of that. Soldiers don't bitch about the scars picked up on the battlefield, they simply soldier on!”

The full list of nominations is as follows:

Best Duo/Group Album

  • Dbn Nyts - Believe
  • Deep XCape - Pandora's Box
  • Sphectacula & DJ Naves - Kings Of The Weekend (KOTW)
  • Junior Taurus - Cotton Candy
  • Mi Casa - Home Sweet Home

Best African Pop Album

  • Nathi - Buyelekhaya
  • Zahara - Country Girl
  • Zonke - Work of Heart
  • Maleh - You Make My Heart Go
  • Kabomo - Sekusile

Best Compilation Album

  • DJ Fresh - Fresh House Flavour Vol.8
  • DJ Kanunu - Soul Meditation 2
  • Various Artists - It's not a party without us
  • 999 Music - Summer Ya Di Summer

Best Female Album

  • Maleh - Feels So Good
  • Zonke - Reach It
  • Zahara - Country Girl
  • Thiwe - Soul Therapy
  • Fifi Cooper - 20Fifi

Best Urban Jazz Album

  • Benjamin Japhta - Home Coming
  • Judith - One Word
  • Mimi Dhlamini - Mpumi Dlamini
  • Nduduzo Makhathini - Listening to the ground
  • Nomfundo Xaluva - From Now On

Best RnB Single

  • Zonke – ‘Reach It’
  • Nathi – ‘Nomvula’
  • Maleh – ‘Feels So Good’
  • CiCi – ‘Runaway’
  • Vincent Bones – ‘My Lady’

Best Urban Gospel Album

  • Ntokozo Mbambo - Spirit and Life
  • Andile Ka Majola - Chapter 7
  • Malusi Mbomazi - Ngisize Nkosi
  • Ayanda Ntazi - Udumo
  • Worship House - True Worship 2015

Best Collaboration

  • Sphectacula & DJ Naves ft. Professor – ‘King Of The Weekend Anthem (KOTWA)’
  • Heavy K ft.  Professor and Mpumi – ‘Umoya’
  • Major League DJs – ‘Slyza Tsotsi’
  • AKA – ‘Baddest’
  • DJ Sliqe – ‘iLife’

Best Kwaito Album

  • Big Nuz - For The Fans
  • Dbn Nyts - Believe
  • DJ Bongz - Game Changer
  • Kabelo - Immortal Vol 3

Best Hit Single

  • AKA – ‘Baddest’
  • L-Tido – ‘Dlala Ka Yona’
  • Kwesta – ‘Nomayini’
  • Witness The Funk (WTF) – ‘Nomusa’
  • Shekinah & Kyle Deutch – ‘Back to the Beach’

Best New Artist

  • Nathi - Buyelekhaya
  • Emtee - Avery
  • Riky Rick - Family Values
  • Prince Kaybee - Better Days
  • Fifi Cooper - 20FiFi

Best Dance Album

  • Sphectacula & DJ Naves - Kings Of The Weekend (KOTW)
  • Black Coffee - Pieces of Me
  • Prince Kaybee - Better Day
  • Mobi Dixon - Tribal Soul
  • Heavy K - Respect The Drumboss

Best Hip-Hop Album

  • Cassper Nyovest - Refiloe
  • Riky Rick – Family Values
  • Emtee - Avery
  • Fifi Cooper - 20FIFI
  • Zakwe - Impande

Best Male Album

  • Nathi - Buyelekhaya
  • Black Coffee - Pieces of Me
  • Cassper Nyovest - Refiloe
  • Prince Kaybee - Better Days
  • Riky Rick - Family Values

Best Music Video

  • Da Les – ‘Paid’
  • Donald – ‘What Goes Around’
  • Emtee – ‘Roll Up’
  • Sphectacula & DJ Naves – ‘Kings Of The Weekend Anthem (KOTWA)’
  • Tumi – ‘Visa’

Best Remix

  • Kelly Khumalo – ‘Asine’
  • DJ Slique – ‘DLID’
  • Emtee – ‘Roll Up Re Up’
  • Tresor – ‘Never Let Me Go’
  • AKA – ‘Baddest’

African Category

  • Burna Boy – ‘Soka’
  • Wizkid – ‘Ojuelegba’
  • Partoranking – ‘My Woman, My Everything’
  • The Mavins – ‘Dorobucci’
  • Reekado Banks – ‘Katapot’

Song of the Year

  • Black Cofeee – ‘We Dance Again’
  • Nathi – ‘Nomvula’
  • Sphectacula & DJ Naves featuring Professor – ‘Kings Of The Weekend Anthem’
  • Dbn Nyts – ‘Shumaya’
  • Heavy K – ‘Umoya’
  • DJ Ganyani – ‘Talk To Me’
  • Prince Kaybee – ‘Wajellwa’
  • Riky Rick – ‘Boss Zonke’
  • Shimza – ‘Akulalwa’
  • Prince Kaybee – ‘Better Days’


comments powered by Disqus