Nigeria's Sound Sultan releases seventh album

Nigerian pop artist and rapper Sound Sultan has released his seventh studio album, Out of the Box.

Sound Sultan. Photo:
Sound Sultan. Photo:

The 20-track album was released on 11 November 2016 and features Olamide, Sarkodie, Phyno, Patoranking, and Harrysong. It also contains four bonus tracks, one of which features 2Baba.

Considered one of Nigeria’s revered hip-hop acts, Sound Sultan releases his debut single, Jagbajantis in 2000, and has been known for fluidity between genres, mixing hip hop, R&B, and even fuji. His music also also features a certain social consciousness. Sound Sultan’s seventh album was released on the Naija Ninja label that he co-owns.

Just days after the release of the album, however, Sound Sultan took to his Twitter account to plead with Nigerian bloggers to stop posting his full album for free download on their websites. He was also in the news after that for his alleged involvement in a fracas involving his colleague Oritsefemi at Quilox, a popular club in Lagos. These incidents have created some buzz around Out of the Box.

The video of a single off the album titled 'African Lady', featuring Phyno and Flavour was released earlier in the year.

Sound Sultan is a UN peace ambassador, and over a two-decade career has formed relationships with various international acts such as Wyclef Jean, who featured him on his Welcome to Haiti: Creole 101 album. His previous albums are: Kpseeeeeeew (2001), Textbook (2004), Naija 007 (2007), SS4 (2008), Back to The future (2010), and Me, My Mouth and Eye (2012).

Buy Out of the Box on iTunes.


comments powered by Disqus