Nominees revealed for Zambian Music Awards

A record number of public nominations were received for this year’s Mosi Lager Zambian Music Awards (ZMA), due to be held in Lusaka on Thursday 28 April.

From left: MC Theresa Liteta, ZAAP President Enock Chiwati, and adjudicators Jagari Chanda and Patrick Samwimbila.
From left: MC Theresa Liteta, ZAAP President Enock Chiwati, and adjudicators Jagari Chanda and Patrick Samwimbila.

This year’s industry awards attracted 101 741 nominations from the public by the time submissions closed – more than double the 39 000 nominations received last year.

“We are overwhelmed by the response of the public to this year’s Mosi Zambian Music Awards,” said Mosi Lager Marketing Manager Nomonde Donsa. “The number of nominations exemplifies the passion and love people have for Zambian music and it brings us great joy to facilitate, in partnership with the National Arts Council, the expression of this passion.”

After months of intense preparation and voting, Zambia’s most prominent hit-makers were finally revealed on 31 March at a media event at the Keg and Coppersmith in the northern city of Kitwe, attended by representatives from sponsor Zambian Breweries, the National Arts Council, the Zambia Adjudicators Panel (ZAAP) and the Zambia Association of Musicians (ZAM).

Battling it out for the coveted title of Best Male Artist are Chef 187 (top dog at last year's awards), Jay Rox and Afunika, while the Best Female Artist title will be selected from Kan2, Cleo IceQueen and Chileshe Bwalya. In the Best Album category, it’s between Jay Rox’s Outside the Rox, Slap Dee’s Black na White II and Petersen Zagaze’s King Solomon. In the prestigious Song of the Year category, the three finalists are ‘Ama-Rulah’ by Roberto, ‘Dorika’ by Chims K and ‘Shonongo’ by Chester.

Zambia Association of Musicians (ZAM) representative Njoya Tee said: “We are delighted to unveil this year’s Mosi ZMA nominees. The record setting number of nominations demonstrates the love people have for Zambian art expressed through music. We look forward to recognising the hard work of the many artists at the awards and celebrating Zambian music in Livingstone at the Mosi Day of Thunder.”

“We are excited for the awards and more so for the Mosi Day of Thunder,” added Mosi Lager Marketing Manager Nomonde Donsa. “We believe that this event will be an entertainment platform that will showcase chart-topping acts, with their signature blend of upbeat and uplifting music. With hitmakers approved by fans at the fore, we anticipate a huge crowd of dance music lovers.”

The full list of nominees is as follows:

Best Live Recording Album

  • Amfumu - Mutende Culture Ensemble   
  • I am Lenshina - Mumba Yachi                                 
  • Nshakalekeleko - Medoreen Besa

Best Lead Guitarist

  • David Andish
  • Israel Kaputula  
  • Emmanuel Siame

Best Bass Guitarist

  • Jericho Banda (Jerry Fingaz)
  • David Kasochi
  • Nzovuwa Chambaka

Best Keyboard Player

  • Lazarus Zulu
  • Mapalo Mapalo
  • Jones Samalama

Best Drummer

  • Smith Phiri 
  • Eston Mwape
  • Kasonde Sunkutu 

Best Songwriter

  • Petersen Zagaze                             
  • Chef 187                                                          
  • Afunika               

Best Studio Music Producer

  • Tonny Breezy
  • Killa Beats
  • DJ Mzenga Man

Best Dancehall/RnB Album

  • Outside the Rox - Jay Rox                                         
  • Ama-Rulah 1712 - Roberto                                                     
  • King Solomon - Petersen Zagaze                                         

Best Hip-Hop/Rap Album

  • B. East - Bobby East
  • Best Before Forever - K.R.Y.T.I.C.           
  • Black na White II - Slap Dee                         

Best Traditiona l/ Kalindula Album

  • Anfumu - Mutende Culture Ensemble                                 
  • Walakotela Pang’anda - Voice of Luapula                                        
  • Salary - Angela Nyirenda    

Best Female Artist

  • Kan2
  • Cleo Ice Queen
  • Chileshe Bwalya

Best Male Artist

  • Chef 187
  • Jay Rox
  • Afunika

Best Album               

  • Outside the Rox - Jay Rox                                                       
  • Black na White II - Slap Dee                                                       
  • King Solomon - Petersen Zagaze             

Best Female Radio DJ

  • Linzie - Radio 4 FM ZNBC
  • Chi Chi B - Komboni Radio
  • Abby Lupupa - Power FM

Best Male Radio DJ

  • Showstar - Hone FM
  • Big Al - Sun FM
  • Caristo Clear – QFM

Best New/Upcoming Artist

  • Drimz    
  • Wezi
  • Reuben

Song of the Year

  • ‘Ama-Rulah’ - Roberto                                                                                
  • ‘Dorika’ - Chims K                                                                                    
  • ‘Shonongo’ - Chester         

It is now up to the public to vote for their favourites from the three nominations in each category. To cast your vote, visit the ZMA website. Voting closes on Friday 22 April. For the first time ever, the artists are set to perform at the Mosi Day of Thunder in Livingstone on 30 April, expected to create an unparalleled experience that aims to widen audience participation of the annual celebration of music, arts and culture. For more details visit the ZMA Facebook page.


comments powered by Disqus