Rwanda’s Groove Awards unveils 2015 nominees

The nominees for the third edition of Rwanda's Groove Awards were unveiled at Serena Hotel in Kigali on 15 November.

2014 Groove Award winner Gaby Kamanzi. Photo:
2014 Groove Award winner Gaby Kamanzi. Photo:

The Groove Awards, which aim to promote, expose and celebrate gospel talent in East Africa, was officially launched in Rwanda in 2013 after eight years of operation in Kenya. Since 2013, the Rwandan edition of the Groove Awards has continually recognized and rewarded artists, songwriters and industry players who have contributed significantly towards the growth of Rwanda’s gospel industry. Each year the winning artists receive statuettes while the winners of the Best Artist (female and male) categories get an opportunity to co-headline a fully sponsored concert in Kigali.

The Kenyan edition for 2015 was held in June and saw Kenyan artist Bahati win the Male Artist of the Year award for the second time, while Louis Kim won the Female award for 2015. 

This year the awards will see artists and industry players seek recognition in 12 different categories. The full list of nominees is:

Male Artist of the Year
  • Brian Blessed
  • Daniel Svensson
  • Elisa Tugirumukiza
  • Israel Mbonyi
  • Thacien Titus
  • Uwiringiyimana Theogene
Female Artist of the Year
  • Alice Toni
  • Gaudance Nyirahabineza
  • Gloria Gogo
  • Kamugisha Diana
  • Rwibasira Rachel
  • Tonzi
Choir of the Year
  • Alarm Ministries
  • Ambassadors of Christ
  • Besarel Choir
  • Bethlehem Choir
  • Holy Nation Choir
  • True Promises Ministry
New Artist/Group of the Year
  • Bosco Nshuti
  • Brian Blessed
  • Janvier Kayitana
  • Muhoza Janvier
  • Mutabazi Dany
  • Precious Mugwiza
Song of the Year
  • 'Alpha and Omega' by True Promises
  • 'Haribanga' by Bethlehem choir
  • 'Iratuzi' by Roi G
  • 'Izi namazina yacu' by New Melody
  • 'Nimetosheka' by Herman Worship International
  • 'Nzibyo nibwira' by Israel Mbonyi
Worship Song of the Year
  • 'Izabikora' by Janvier Muhonza
  • 'Jehova' by Kayitana Janvier
  • 'Ndanyuzwe' by Mbonyi
  • 'Umwuka Wera' by Elisa Tugirumukiza
  • 'Uture Mangingo' by Peniel
  • 'Wuzuyibambe' by Bosco Nshuti
Hip-Hop Song of the Year 
  • 'Icumbi' by Gasirabo Uomo Fuoco
  • 'Id' by Patrick
  • 'Kubera Imana' by Blaise Pascal
  • 'Nzahimbaza' by Uncle Sam
  • 'Nzakagendana' by The Crap
  • 'Yarabirangije' by Willy

Video of the year

  • 'Haguruka' by Diane K
  • 'Mana Urera' by True Promises
  • 'Haribanga' by Bethlehem Choir
  • 'Imfundo' by Besareri Choir
  • 'This Is My Time' by Fanny
  • 'Sijja Muvako' by Tonzi
Dance Group of the Year
  • Shekinah Drama Team
  • Shining Stars
  • The Blessing Family
  • The Soldiers
  • The Winners of Jesus Christ
  • True Promises Drama Team
Gospel Radio Show of the Year
  • Gospel Time Show - Isango Star
  • Himbaza/City Radio
  • Nezerwa - Radio Inkoramutima
  • Sana Weekend Relax - Sana Radio
  • Ten Gospel Show - Radio 10
  • Top Stories - Radio Umucyo
Radio Presenter of the Year
  • Ange Daniel Ntirenganya
  • Byishimo Espoir Happy
  • Florant Ndutiye
  • Justin Belis
  • Mbabazi Felix
  • Nibakwe Edithe
Christian Website

The winners of the Groove Awards are decided by popularity, through public voting done either online or via SMS. For more information about the Groove Awards Rwanda, visit the event website. Details about the upcoming awards ceremony will be announced soon.



comments powered by Disqus