Tekno, AKA, Diamond win at AFRIMMA

The 2016 edition of the African Muzik Magazine Awards (AFRIMMA) was held on 15 October in Texas in the US.

Tekno, AKA, Diamond Planumz
Tekno, AKA, Diamond Planumz

Among the winners were South African rapper AKA, Nigerian pop star Tekno and Tanzanian singer Diamond Platnumz. The rapper won the Best Male Southern Africa category, while Tekno took home the trophy for Song of the Year with the 2015 hit, 'Duro'.

Diamond Platnumz, continuing a winning streak that saw him take three awards at the All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMMA) last year, won Best Male East Africa.

Other winners on the night include Wizkid, Sauti Sol, and Ghanaian songstress Efya, who was judged Best Female West Africa, beating off fellow nominees Tiwa Savage, Yemi Alade and Senegal's Viviane Chidid. Akothee and Chikune took the awards for the east African and southern African regions respectively. 

Video director Patrick Elis won the Best Director award, and Machel Montano won the award's foreign category, Caribbean Artist of The Year. 

Each year the African Muzik Magazine Awards honours artists on the continent who, over the past year, have done work judged to be worthy of recongition. According to the organisers, AFRIMMA is the only "award ceremony in the Diaspora that caters to all musical genres including but not limited to: Afrobeats, Assiko, Bongo, Decale, Funana, Genge, Highlife, Hiplife, Kwaito, Lingala and Soukous".

Full list of winners below.

  • Best Male West Africa – Olamide
  • Best Female West Africa – Efya
  • Best Male North Africa  – Amr Diab
  • Best Female North Africa – Ibtissam Tiskat
  • Best DJ Africa – DJ D’Ommy
  • Best Male East Africa – Diamond Platnumz
  • Best Female East Africa – Akothee
  • Best African DJ USA – DJ Dee Money
  • Best Male Central Africa – c4 Pedro
  • AFRIMMA Video of The Year – 'Brother Brother' – Bisa Kdei
  • Best Female Central Africa – Daphne
  • Music Producer of the Year – Masterkraft
  • Best Male South Africa – AKA
  • Best African Dancer – Brenda Derry
  • Best Female Southern Africa – Chikune
  • Best Rap Act – Phyno
  • Best African Group – Sauti Sol
  • Best Collaboration Award - Reggea Blues , Harrysong, Kcee
  • Crossing Boundaries with Music – Wizkid
  • Song of The Year – Tekno – 'Duro'
  • Best Gospel Act - Willy Paul
  • Artist of The Year – Flavour
  • Best Newcomer – Harmonize
  • Best Dancehall Act – Shatta Wale
  • Best Video Director – Patrick Elis
  • Caribbean Artist of The Year – Machel Montano


comments powered by Disqus