Vodafone Ghana Music Awards opens submissions

Submissions for the 18th edition of the Vodafone Ghana Music Awards, organised by Charterhouse Ghana, are open.

Rapper EL won big at the 2016 VGMAs. Photo: Ghana Live
Rapper EL won big at the 2016 VGMAs. Photo: Ghana Live

The Vodafone Ghana Music Awards is "the biggest, most anticipated, most patronised and most significant Entertainment event on the Ghanaian Social calendar," says its official website. It aims to, among other things, recognize and celebrate the hard work and dedication of the numerous participants in the country's music scene.

Each year the awards programme, also referred to by the acronym VGMA, is organised in partnership with the Musicians the Union of Ghana (MUSIGA) and supported by the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Creative Arts. 

In recent times, the VGMAs have come under some scrutiny mostly because of a disagreement with the dancehall star Shatta Wale. The artist accused the body of unfairness and was banned from consideration at the 2016 ceremony. There was also an uproar after Mr Eazi was shut out of the awards because he is originally from Nigeria. Nonetheless, the awards retains its importance in the Ghana music scene.

Last year's event witnessed the announcement of the expansion of the Starboy label owned by Nigerian act Wizkid. EL, Bisa Kdei and Sarkodie were the night's major winners.

All interested parties have been encouraged to pick nomination forms from the offices of Chaterhouse Productions Limited in Accra, Ghana, and other partner radio and TV Stations. Only works released between 1 January 2016 and 31 December 2016 are eligible for submission and consideration.

Completed physical forms with copies of CDs, Videos and promotional pictures should be submitted to the offices of Charterhouse Productions Limited, located at B824/10 Feo Eyeo Street, Industrial Area, Accra, near TV Africa, not later than 31 January 2017 when all nominations close. Submissions can also be made online at entry.ghanamusicawards.com.

For more information about the awards, visit the website.



comments powered by Disqus