Nominees announced for 2017 Vodafone Ghana Music Awards

Nominees for the 18th Vodafone Ghana Music Awards were announced at the Kempiski Hotel on 25 February 2017.

Okyeame Kwame. Source: Facebook
Okyeame Kwame. Source: Facebook

The list was teased gradually on the social media accounts of Charterhouse Ghana, hourly, from noon to the opening of the event by 7pm.

Rapper Sarkodie leads the list with three nominations. Okyeame Kwame, winner of the Artist of the Year award in 2009 and 2016, is nominated for two awards: Hip-Hop Song of the Year and the Music Video of the Year. Other artists with two nominations include Stonebwoy, M.anifest.

After the controversy surrounding the exclusion of Mr Eazi from last year's awards, the Nigerian artist is on the list this year. He is, however, up for VGMA's "foreign" category, African Artist of the Year. Other nominees in the category include Runtown, who scored a hit in both Nigerian and Ghana with 'Mad Over You', dancehall artist Patoranking, and 'Pana' hitmaker Tekno

The VGMAs will be held on 4 April 2017 at the Accra International Conference Centre by 8pm.

Full list of nominees below:

Reggae/Dancehall Artiste of the Year
Ras Kuuku
Rudebwoy Ranking
Highlife Artiste of the Year
Bisa Kdei
Kofi Kinaata
Gospel Artiste of the Year
Joe Mettle
Piesie Esther
Sonnie Badu
Jeshrun Okyere
Hiplife Song of the Year
Guru - Samba feat. Singlet
Donzy - Club feat. Piesie and Sarkodie
Flowking Stone - Go Low
Sarkodie - RNS
Criss Waddle - Bie Gya feat. Stonebwoy
Kofi Kinaata - Sweet Pie
VVIP - Alhaji feat. Patoranking
Afro-pop Song of the Year
E.L - Kaabu Ame
Eugy - Dance For Me feat. Mr Eazi
Article Wan - Solo
Joey B - U x me
Medikal - Too Risky feat. Sister Derby
Adina - Too Late
Vision DJ - Grind feat. A.I
Hip-hop Song of the Year
Manifest - god MC
Sarkodie - Trumpet feat. Tee Phlow, Koo Ntakra, Strongman, Pappy Kojo, Donzy, & Medikal
E.L - Lalafalama
Medikal - Confirm remix feat. Sarkodie
Edem - Egboame remix feat. Tee Phlow, Cabum, Gemini, Ayat, Mac M, Medikal, Darko, & Bebelino
Okyeame Kwame - Tension feat. Cabum, Medikal & Sister Derby
Best New Act
Nii Funny
Fancy Gadam
Article Wan
Feli Nuna
Rudebwoy Ranking
African Artist of the year
Mr Eazi
Nathaniel Bassey
Record of the year
Nacee - Me ne wo aa
Akwaboah - Hello feat. Sarkodie
Adina - Too late
Joey B - U x Me
Trigmatic - Motromodwo feat. A.I
Best Female Vocalist
Adina - Tool Late
Becca - Beshiwo
MzVee - Nobody Else
Piesie Esther - Agye won nsam
Petrah - My Man
Best Male Vocalist
Ogya Mensah - Get Serious
Afriyie - Here to Stay
Joe Mettle - Onwanwani
Akwaboah - Hello
Sonnie Badu - Still You Reign
Ernest Opoku - Yewo Nyame a yewo adze
Best Music Video of the Year
Wiyaala - Leno
Okyeame Kwame - Small small feat. MzVee
Nacee - Yewo Nyame a yewo adze feat. Ernest Opoku
Flowking Stone - Rapping Drums
M.anifest - W'ani aba feat. Bisa K'Dei
Edem - Nyedzilo feat. Rekaado Banks
Songwriter of the Year
Joe Mettle - Onwanwani
Kill Beatz - Too Late
Kofi Kinaata - Confession
Nacee - Yewo Nyame a yewo adze
Hiplife/Hip hop artiste of the year
Flowking Stone
Joey B
Best Rapper of the Year
Flowking Stone - Fire Bon Dem RMX
EL - Love God
Meidkal - Connect
Yaa Pono (Ponobiom) - Mind on Money
M.anifest - 100%
Sarkodie - Fire Bon Dem RMX
Artist of the Year
Joe Mettle
Song of the Year
Christy – Dobble
U x Me – Joey B
R N S – Sarkodie
Solo – Article Wan
People Dey – Stonebwoy
Kaabuame – EL
Bie Gya – Criss Waddle ft. Stonebwoy
Sweetie Pie – Kofi Kinaata
Alhaji – VVIP ft. Patoranking
Yewo Nyame a Yewo Adze – Nacee Ft. Ernest Opoku
Go Low – Flowking Stone
Album of the Year
Bar 3 – EL
Nowhere Cool – M.anifest
Gifted – Flowking Stone
Sounds of Africa – Sonnie Badu
Best Collaboration of the Year
Alhaji – VVIP ft. Patoranking
Yewo Nyame a Yewo Adze – Nacee ft. Ernest Opoku
Confirm Rmx – Medikal Ft. Sarkodie
Bie Gya – Criss Waddle ft. Stonebwoy
Nwansina – Ras Kuuku ft. Luther
Samba – Guru ft. Singlet
Best Group of the Year
Reggae/Dancehall Song of the Year
People Dey – Stonebwoy
Nwansina – Ras Kuuku Ft. Luther
Gborgborvor – Gallaxy Ft. Stonebwoy
Kupe – Ebony
Yonnah – Samini ft. Luther
Pain Dem – Rudebwoy Ranking
Arostor – Kaakie Ft. Yaa Pono
Highlife Song of the Year
Jwe – Bisa Kdei
Confession – Kofi Kinaata
Beshiwo – Becca ft. Bisa Kdei
Mintse Bo – Wisa Greid
Christy – Dobble
Bokor Bokor – Kill Beatz ft. Mugeez & Fuse ODG
Unsung Artiste
Kwame Eugene
AJ Lyricx
Afezi Perry
CJ Biggerman
Deon Boakye
Cina Soul
Gospel Song of the Year
Yewo Nyame a Yewo adze – Nacee ft. Ernest Opoku
Change Over – Mary Agyemang
Mewo Jesus – Mabel Okyere
Still You Reign – Sonnie Badu
Healing Stream – Jeshrun Okyere Ft. Nathaniel Bassey
Agye Won Nsam – Piesie Esther


comments powered by Disqus